Academic Awards for Junior & Leaving Certificate 2014

The annual academic awards ceremony was held on Fri. 28th November 2014.

The guest speaker was Seán Gillane SC, who provided a vivid, very entertaining, picture of the Justice and Peace group that was active in the 1980s in the school. Yet, it is also clear that the fundamentals of student encouragement and empowerment were then, and still are, part of the CSN landscape.

Junior Certificate 2014


Awards were presented to :

Alex Black, Joseph Dilworth, Dylan Foley, Cormac Larkin and Dylan Morley

Leaving Certificate 2014


The Leaving Certificate Awards were presented to:

Luke Foley  (Music)

Kieran Hinds (Art, French)

Kevin Holland (Applied Maths, Chemistry, English, Maths, Physics). Kevin also received the IAMTA Gold Medal for Applied Maths and the Institute of Physics Award for Physics for the best marks, nationally, in those subjects.

Michael Lane (Construction Studies)

Jack O’Connor (Design and Communications Graphics)

Michael O’Donovan (Biology, Geography). Michael also received a JP McManus All-Ireland Scholarship.

Denis O’Driscoll (Business)

Conor Philpott (Business, History, Gaeilge, German)

Scholarships 2014


The School was very also delighted to learn that five of our past pupils had been awarded entrance scholarships to UCC and UCD. Four students: Peter Barlow, Kevin Holland, Michael O’Donovan and Stephen O’Neill were awarded UCC Entrance Scholarships (now rebranded as Quercus Scholarships); Kieran Hinds received an Entrance Scholarship to UCD.

Additionally, two of our former students received additional Quercus scholarships: David Calnan in Enterprise and Conor Dorman in Sport. David Minhane received a sports scholarship from TCD.